Toamasina is the eastern province of Madagascar (its area is a bit smaller than The Netherlands). It has a population of 3 million. Toamasina means “like salt” or “salty”. The Atsinanana region is part of the province.2000px-Madagascar_Toamasina_Province.svg


Situated along the East coast, the province has a long coastline with a rich variation of views and landscapes. Swimming and diving is possible in some areas, mainly where coral reefs offer protection. This is the province is that provides the country with many different kinds of fruits, spices and palms. Endless stretches of majestic lychee trees to admire, the scent of cloves drying, drinking coconut milk from a freshly chopped coconut, or learning about the fabrication of soap from palm oil, are all experiences waiting for the interested visitor.

The nature reserves with their unique fauna and flora, many species still unidentified, constitute first class traveller destinations. A very special kind of wildlife adventure is the whale watching in the Antongil bay and at the Sainte Marie Island. There are several seaside resorts, like Foulpointe, Mahambo, Manompana, and Vatomandry. Historically interesting sites are the Manda Fortress and the graves of Prince Ramiango and Couillandeau de la Touche, all located in the vicinity of Foulpointe. In Fénérive-Est you can visit the Lampy museum and another fortress, Vohimasina. The pirates’ cemetery on the island of St. Marie and the so-called Dutch beach on Nosy Mangabe, where shipwrecked Dutch sailors have carved their names in the rocks, are relics of the early European visits to Madagascar

See our Ste Marie and our Mahambo Tour


The 600 kilometres Pangalanes canal is a system of streams and several beautiful lakes connected through man-dug canals. It is the longest man-made waterway in the world. The Canal was constructed for transportation and is still being used for this purpose today. On both banks of the Canal several places of interest can be visited, be it one of the last patches of littoral rainforest or a distillery of ethereal oils. The strip of land between the ocean and the canal, only a few dozen metres wide, is in itself worth a visit.

See our Pangalanes Trip

Toamasina est la province de l’est de Madagascar (sa surface est un peu plus petite que celle des Pays-Bas). Elle a une population de 3 millions d’habitants. Toamasina signifie « comme le sel » ou « salé ». La région Atsinanana fait partie de cette province.2000px-Madagascar_Toamasina_Province.svg

visuel-Canal-des-Pangalanes

Située le long de la côte est, la province a un long littoral avec une grande richesse de panoramas et de paysages. Les baignades et la plongée sous-marine sont possibles dans certaines parties, principalement lorsque les barrières de corail offrent une protection. C’est la province qui fournit au pays de nombreuses sortes de fruits, d’épices et de palmiers. D’interminables étendues d’arbres à litchis majestueux, l’odeur des clous de girofle qui sèchent, boire le lait de coco directement dans une noix fraichement coupée, ou apprendre comment fabriquer du savon à partir d’huile de palme, toutes ces expériences attendent le visiteur intéressé.

Les réserves naturelles avec leur faune et leur flore uniques, de nombreuses espèces non encore identifiées, constituent des destinations de premier rang pour les voyageurs. Une aventure à part entière est l’observation des baleines dans la baie d’Antongil et à l’île Sainte-Marie. Il y a plusieurs stations balnéaires, comme Foulpointe, Mahambo, Manompana, et Vatomandry. Les sites historiques intéressants sont la Forteresse Manda et les tombes de Prince Ramiango et de Couillandeau de la Touche, tous situés près de Foulpointe. A Fénérive-Est, on peut visiter le musée Lampy et une autre forteresse, Vohimasina. Le cimetière des pirates sur l’île Sainte-Marie et la plage appelée plage des hollandais à Nosy Mangabe, où les naufragés hollandais ont gravé leurs noms sur les rochers, sont des vestiges des premières visites des européens à Madagascar.

Voir notre visite de Sainte-Marie et notre visite de Mahambo

Fetrahomby

Le canal Pangalanes, long de 600 kilomètres, est un système de ruisseaux et de plusieurs lacs magnifiques connectés vias des canaux creusés par l’homme. C’est le plus long cours d’eau fait par l’homme dans le monde. Le Canal a été construit pour le transport et est toujours utilisé dans ce but aujourd’hui. Des deux côtés du Canal, plusieurs lieux d’intérêts peuvent se visiter, dont l’une des dernières parcelles de forêt vierge du litoral, ou encore une distillerie d’huiles essentielles. Le bout de terre entre l’océan et le canal, large de seulement quelques dizaines de mètres, vaut à lui seul une visite.

Voir notre visite de Pangalanes