In Toamasina region, virgin rainforests can be found with unique endemic plants, trees, flowers, and animals, of which many are not yet described by scientists. A growing number of protected areas guarantee the safeguarding of the most important and still undamaged parts.

Moreover, several parks in the region have in recent years been connected by an impressive corridor, (CAZ – Corridor Ankeniheny-Zahamena) to give the Indri-indri, Madagascar’s biggest lemur, more space to breed.

See our Fetraomby Treks

andasibe02 The nature reserves in the province Toamasina that can be visited are:

1. Andasibe-Mantadia, Mitsinjo, and V.O.I.M.M.A near Moramanga
In Andasibe, Mitsinjo and V.O.I. M.M.A it is easy to spot the Indri-indri, a black and white lemur, known for its striking singing voice. The area was known as Perinet, the oldest National Park in the country and the most visited today. In Mantadia, about 12 kilometres from Andasibe, the diademed sifaka and the black-and-white-ruffed lemur can be spotted. The whole area is also ideal for frog fans.

See our Andasibe Tour


2. Zahamena National Park, near Ambatondrazaka
With 13 lemur species, including the Indri-indri, 112 bird species and very special plants like the Zahana Mena which gave the park its name, a red coloured kind of hard wood

3. The Palmarium and the Vohibola Reserve are situated near Andranokoditra, on the strip of land between the Indian Ocean and the Pangalanes Canal
Vohibola Reserve is the last piece of littoral rainforest on the East coast. The Palmarium is a park where 13 species of lemur live in semi-freedom, including lemurs from other parts of Madagascar like the Black Lemur (despite its name the female is brown), Verraux’s Sifaka and the Crowned Lemur.

See our Pangalanes Tour

4. Park Ivoloina (near Toamasina), a park managed by the Madagascar Fauna Group
With twelve different species of lemur, all in all more than 100 animals. Ivoloina participates in scientific breeding programmes for Malagasy animals most threatened with extinction. Thus it is one of the few places where you come face to face with the Greater Bamboo Lemur or the Blue-eyed Black Lemur, the only blue-eyed primate apart from mankind, both included in the list of the world’s 25 Most Endangered Primates.

See our Ivoloina Tour


5. Mananara Nord, Masoala, and Nosy Mangabe on the Baie de Antongil
The Mananara Nord Reserve is partly rainforest, partly a marine reserve, with lagoons, cascades and – even for Madagascar – an extremely varied biodiversity. The island Nosy Mangabe with its Plage des Hollandais, where Dutch shipwrecked sailors carved their names in the rocks, is also the best place to spot the aye-aye, the most peculiar of lemurs. Cap Masoala is Madagascar’s largest National Park. Here the forest stretches into the sea, into the marine reserves where coral reefs and mangrove are abundant. It is the only place to spot the red-ruffed lemur, in fact many species of plants, trees and animals can only be found here as half of Madagascar’s flora are present at Cap Masoala.

Dans la région Toamasina se trouvent des forêts tropicales vierges avec des plantes, arbres, fleurs et animaux endémiques uniques, dont beaucoup n’ont pas encore été décrits par les scientifiques. Un nombre croissant de zones protégées garantie la sauvegarde des endroits encore intacts les plus importants.

 

De plus, plusieurs parcs dans la région ont été connectés ces dernières années par un impressionnant corridor (CAZ – Corridor Ankeniheny-Zahamena), pour laisser aux Indri-indri, les plus grands lémuriens de Madagascar, plus d’espace pour se reproduire.

Voir nos Treks Fetraomby

andasibe02

Les réserves naturelles qui peuvent être visitées dans la province Toamasina sont:

1. Andasibe-Mantadia, Mitsinjo, et V.O.I.M.M.A près de Moramanga
A Andasibe, Mitsinjo et V.O.I. M.M.A, il est facile d’apercevoir un Indri-indri, lémurien noir et blanc, connu pour sa voix mélodieuse saisissante. La région était connue sous le nom de Perinet, le plus vieux Parc National du pays et le plus visité aujourd’hui. A Mantadia, à environ 12 kilomètres d’Andasibe, on peut apercevoir le propithèque à diadème et le maki vari. Toute la région est aussi idéale pour les amateurs de grenouilles.

Voir notre Visite d’Andasibe

andasibe03

2. Parc National Zahamena, près d’Ambatondrazaka
Avec 13 espèces de lémuriens, dont l’Indri-indri, 112 espèces d’oiseaux, et des plantes très spéciales comme le Zahana Mena, arbre rouge au bois dur qui a donné son nom au parc.

 

3. Le Palmarium et la Réserve Vohibola sont situées près d’Andranokoditra,sur la bande de terre entre l’Océan indien et le Canal des Pangalanes
La Réserve Vohibola est le dernier morceau de forêt tropicale sur le littoral de la côté est. Le Palmarium est un parc où 13 espèces de lémuriens vivent en semi-liberté, dont des lémuriens venant d’autres régions de Madagascar, comme le Lémur noir (malgré son nom, la femelle est brune), le Propithèque de Verreaux, et le Lémur couronné. 

Voir notre Visite de Pangalanes

4. Parc Ivoloina (près de Toamasina), un parc géré par le Madagascar Fauna Group
Avec douze espèces différentes de lémuriens, au total plus de 100 animaux. Ivoloina participe à des programmes scientifiques d’élevage pour les animaux malgaches les plus menacés d’extinction. C’est par conséquent l’un des rares endroits où l’on peut se retrouver face à un Grand Hapalémur, ou un Lémur aux yeux turquoise, le seul primate aux yeux bleus autre que l’homme, tous deux inclus dans la liste des 25 espèces de primates les plus menacées au monde.

Voir notre Visite d’Ivoloina

Le-Parc-d’Ivoloina

5. Mananara Nord, Masoala, et Nosy Mangabe sur la Baie de Antongil
La Réserve de Mananara Nord est en partie de la forêt tropicale, et en partie une réserve marine, avec des lagons, des cascades et – même pour Madagascar – une biodiversité extrêmement variée. L’île de Nosy Mangabe avec sa Plage des Hollandais, où des naufragés hollandais ont gravé leurs noms dans les rochers, est aussi le meilleur endroit pour voir un aye-aye, le plus étrange des lémuriens. Le Cap Masoala est le plus grand Parc National de Madagascar. Ici la forêt s’étend jusqu’à la mer, dans les réserves marines où les barrières de corail et la mangrove abondent. C’est le seul endroit où l’on peut voir le Vari roux; en fait, de nombreuses espèces de plantes, d’arbres et d’animaux ne se trouvent qu’ici car la moitié de la flore de Madagascar est présente au Cap Masoala.